Moondance

Moondance

Sat Oct 15 20:21 2016 NZDT
Run: 12.8nm (23.2km)

Back at Musket Cove - nice and quiet out here!

Sun Oct 9 8:42 2016 NZDT
Run: 17.8nm (32.2km)
Avg: 153.3knts
24hr: 3679.2nm

Moored at Port Denarau Marina - we will be here for 1 week provisioning, laundry, and all kinds of fun stuff!

Sun Oct 9 8:35 2016 NZDT
Run: 7.8nm (14.1km)

Thu Oct 6 0:00 2016 NZDT
Run: 23.6nm (42.7km)

Back at Musket Cove - lots of boats!

Wed Oct 5 0:00 2016 NZDT
Run: 56.9nm (103km)

Lunch and a snorkel at Sand Cay - amazing!

Wed Oct 5 0:00 2016 NZDT
Run: 15.9nm (28.8km)

Anchored in beautiful Navadra. Never seen so many boats here. But we aren't rolling. Yeah!

Mon Oct 3 20:08 2016 NZDT
Run: 4.6nm (8.3km)

Anchored off the Malakati Village on Nacula Island. Spectacular!

Sun Oct 2 16:12 2016 NZDT
Run: 20.3nm (36.7km)

Back at the beautiful Blue Lagoon. Weather is perfect for playing in the water!

Thu Sep 29 9:56 2016 NZDT
Run: 42.2nm (76.4km)

Anchored off the Manta Ray Islands resort on the island of Nanuyabalavu - Yasawas. Happy to be back in the islands and the weather is gorgeous!

Wed Sep 14 11:17 2016 NZST
Run: 62.6nm (113.3km)

Anchored off of Port Denarau Marina - so nice to be back here!

Fri Sep 9 13:01 2016 NZST
Run: 38.2nm (69.1km)

Had a nice sail over from Vanua Levu - dolphins and pilot whales - oh my! Sorry to report that no fish were caught... Currently, anchored off of Nananu-i-Cake with 5 other boats. Had a lovely BBQ on the beach last night!

Wed Sep 7 0:00 2016 NZST
Run: 45.3nm (82km)

Motor sailed from Savusavu to Nambouwalu - anchored off of Cocoanut Point. Nice to get moving!

Sun Sep 4 9:07 2016 NZST
Run: 39.2nm (71km)

After a rock-n-rolling sail from Taveuni, we are safely moored off of Waitui Marina in lovely Savusavu (again)!

Sun Aug 21 8:27 2016 NZST
Run: 38.9nm (70.4km)

Moored off of beautiful Paradise Resort at the south end of Taveuni. Looks like it is going to be a gorgeous day. PS: Saw a pod of pilot whales on our crossing yesterday - cool!

Sat Jul 30 11:26 2016 NZST

Sat Jul 30 11:26 2016 NZST
Run: 0.1nm (0.2km)

Fri Jul 29 0:00 2016 NZST
Run: 25.1nm (45.4km)
Avg: 5.4knts
24hr: 129.6nm

Very nice to be back in Savusavu. It was a little bit of an adventure getting here, but worth it. We will be here for a few days and then off again we go!

Thu Jul 28 19:21 2016 NZST
Run: 57.8nm (104.6km)

Anchored off of Naisonisoni pass on the island of Vanua Levu. Long and exciting day crossing from Nananu-i-Cake on Viti Levu. We caught a skipjack (rejected), a jack mackeral (rejected), and a 1.1 meter Walu (dinner), plus several good bites that mangled our lure. Even with 15 - 20 knots of wind it was not a good day for sailing for us (bad angle), plus we had lumpy seas. There were ferries crossing in front us, plus a ghost ship (just kidding) sailing past us with no one in sight and no one answering the radio. Gotta be on your toes out here!

Sun Jul 24 0:00 2016 NZST
Run: 0.5nm (0.9km)

Almost made it to Makogai, but decided to head back to Nanau-i-Cake for a few days. A bus trip to Rakiraki today (oh boy) for provisioning (beer) and then heading "somewhere" tomorrow. Weather has been beautiful!

Wed Jul 20 16:00 2016 NZST
Run: 57.7nm (104.4km)
Avg: 359.4knts
24hr: 8625.1nm

Anchored off of Nananu-I-Cake. Always fun traveling with Blinder!

Wed Jul 20 15:50 2016 NZST
Run: 66.6nm (120.5km)

Tue Jul 19 0:00 2016 NZST
Run: 47.9nm (86.7km)

We had a beautiful double rainbow leaving Musket Cove this morning and a beautiful sunset in Long Dick's Bay on the north end of Viti Levu - hah!

Sun Jul 17 13:06 2016 NZST
Run: 12.7nm (23km)

We are back in Musket Cove - good thing we like this place!

Thu Jul 14 13:03 2016 NZST
Run: 12.6nm (22.8km)

Back at Port Denarau. Provisioning for heading to Vanua Levu and beyond!

Mon Jul 11 9:15 2016 NZST
Run: 12.9nm (23.3km)

Back at Musket Cove. Busy place!

Sat Jul 2 19:21 2016 NZST
Run: 56.4nm (102.1km)

Anchored off Port Denarau Marina. Us and about 12 other boats. Busy place!

Sat Jun 25 8:09 2016 NZST
Run: 30.5nm (55.2km)
Avg: 131.7knts
24hr: 3159.7nm

Made it to the beautiful Blue Lagoon - finally. We are anchored by Nanuya LaiLai island at the northern end of the Yasawas. Looking forward to some fun in the sun!

Sat Jun 25 7:55 2016 NZST
Run: 35nm (63.4km)

Anchored off of Wayasewa. A little windy tonight, but a nice comfortable spot!

Tue Jun 21 10:15 2016 NZST
Run: 5.9nm (10.7km)

Moored at Port Denarau Marina - provisioning for our trip up the Yasawas. Yeah!

Sun Jun 19 15:29 2016 NZST
Run: 14nm (25.3km)

Anchored off of Vuda Point Marina for a few nights - lots of new boats!

Fri Jun 10 12:52 2016 NZST
Run: 23.6nm (42.7km)

Moored off of Musket Cove Marina. Lots of new boats around now - looking forward to catching up with all of the Musketeers!

Mon May 9 0:00 2016 NZST
Run: 23.6nm (42.7km)

Anchored in Navadra - never seen so many boats here. But, it we aren't rolling. Yeah!

Thu Apr 28 12:13 2016 NZST
Run: 12.7nm (23km)

Moored off of Musket Cove Marina - so nice to be back here. It has been too long!

Yahoo !! Can't wait to join you! Moving out of the house today and then it's countdown. Looking forward to putting Blinder back in the water , starting to get excited . See you soon enjoy ! Xx
Wed Mar 9 9:44 2016 NZDT
Run: 0.6nm (1.1km)

Moored off of Port Denarau Marina while we are touring New Zealand!

Mon Feb 22 14:35 2016 NZDT
Run: 13.3nm (24.1km)

Up the Denarau Creek waiting for TC Winston to pass!

Hope you 2 are ok. Haven't heard a thing since this last update. You are in our thoughts and prayers. God bless, hugs, Joni and Ken
Thu Jan 14 11:06 2016 NZDT
Run: 12.7nm (23km)

Moored off of Musket Cove Marina. Nice to be back!

Good on you two, Doug and Carla, for making Fiji home for such a nice long stay! We're still considering returning to the islands next season, although the 'official' plan in the sand is to cross from Darwin to Indonesia in August. There's only one Fiji, and, as far as we can tell, only one people with Bula hearts! We miss Fiji. Sending our love, Robbie and Bev
Mon Dec 28 15:54 2015 NZDT
Run: 12.7nm (23km)

Moored off of Port Denarau Marina waiting for the weather to settle!

Sat Dec 26 10:25 2015 NZDT
Run: 12.7nm (23km)

Moored off of Musket Cove Marina and ready to celebrate the holidays. Merry Christmas!

Mon Dec 7 8:12 2015 NZDT
Run: 49.5nm (89.6km)

Moored off of Port Denarau Marina on the island of Viti Levu. It is so nice to be back here, but it sure is quiet. Most of the Yachties have sailed south for the summer!

Sat Dec 5 18:20 2015 NZDT
Run: 51.8nm (93.8km)

Anchored off of Nacilau Point on the island of Viti Levu. Had a nice sail across Blighwater. We are on our way to Port Denarau. Should be their on Sunday?

Fri Dec 4 18:16 2015 NZDT
Run: 45.5nm (82.4km)

Anchored off of Nabouwalu (Coconut Point) on the island of Vanua Levu. On our way to Port Denarau. Should be their on Tuesday!

Wed Nov 25 9:01 2015 NZDT
Run: 239.4nm (433.3km)
Avg: 13.8knts
24hr: 331.8nm

Back in Savusavu and tucked into the Copra Shed Marina again - yeah! The Futuna trip was OK - wet and rainy, plus hit a good squall coming out of Futuna. But, we did have a couple of sunny days and some good sailing. So, as always, a mix bag. The Futuna people are sure nice to the Yachties!

Tue Nov 24 15:42 2015 NZDT
Run: 223nm (403.6km)
Avg: 7.2knts
24hr: 172.5nm

And very happy to be here. It was a squally day at sea, but all is well on Moondance. We should be heading back to Fiji later this afternoon!

Mon Nov 23 8:40 2015 NZDT
Speed: 5.6knts
Run: 178.6nm (323.3km)
Avg: 3.7knts
24hr: 89.1nm
Weather
Weather: 2SE

eta savusavu at 2pm. Will avoid the deteriorating wx ne of there

Sat Nov 21 8:35 2015 NZDT
Speed: 5knts
Run: 123.2nm (223km)
Avg: 5.5knts
24hr: 133nm
Weather
Weather: 11e, 1011

Quite disturbed weather that they are heading into so their visit might be short

Fri Nov 20 10:22 2015 NZDT
Run: 7.3nm (13.2km)
Avg: 4.8knts
24hr: 115.3nm

Motoring sailing to Futuna with calm seas. Of course, it is wet and we had quite the lightening show last night!

Fri Nov 20 8:50 2015 NZDT
Speed: 5.4knts
Run: 71.3nm (129.1km)
Avg: 4.3knts
24hr: 102.7nm
Weather
Weather: 1011, 0.5m SE swell, 6SE

on their way to Futuna

Thu Nov 19 16:11 2015 NZDT

Leaving today for our Futuna run (really this time). Hoping for a good weather window!

Tue Nov 17 10:41 2015 NZDT

Back at the Copra Shed Marina - Staysail Furler problems. Hope it is a quick fix!

Mon Nov 16 13:13 2015 NZDT

Leaving today for our Futuna run (really this time). Hoping for a good weather window!

Mon Nov 9 8:36 2015 NZDT

Not leaving Savusavu yet - we will wait until the SPCZ and the low passes!

Sun Nov 8 15:52 2015 NZDT

Leaving Savusavu in the morning - heading to Futuna - finally!

Tue Aug 4 18:20 2015 NZST

Still moored in Savusavu in front of the Copra Shed Marina waiting for a weather window to Futuna!

Wed Jul 22 12:00 2015 NZST

Moored off of the Copra Shed Marina

No blogs available for this yacht.