Pacific Spray

Pacific Spray

Thu Nov 19 23:24 2015 NZDT
Run: 91.1nm (164.9km)
Avg: 4.7knts
24hr: 111.6nm
35 18S 174 07E

Thursday 19 November. 2230. Arrived Opua. All well. Thanks so much for your support David & Patricia. The weather forecasting was invaluable and was, as always, very accurate.


Welcome back to the land of the long white cloud! Good to know you are safe and hopefully having a good night's sleep!
Thu Nov 19 3:49 2015 NZDT
Speed: 40knts
Run: 82.3nm (149km)
Avg: 3.5knts
24hr: 82.9nm
34 00S 174 23E
Weather: Wind SSE 10/15. swell (not observed). baro 1017 hPa Stdy. 25% cc.

Thursday 19 November 0300 NZST.


Wed Nov 18 3:59 2015 NZDT
Speed: 40knts
Run: 93.4nm (169.1km)
Avg: 3.9knts
24hr: 92.6nm
32 56S 173 45E
Weather: Wind SSE 15. swell (not observed). baro 1014.5 hPa 100% cc.

Wednesday 18 November 0300 NZST.


Tue Nov 17 3:47 2015 NZDT
Speed: 4knts
Run: 102.8nm (186.1km)
Avg: 4.2knts
24hr: 101.3nm
32 25S 172 16E
Weather: Wind SSE 15. swell (not observed). baro 1010.5 hPa 100% cc.

Tuesday 17 November 0300 NZST.


Mon Nov 16 3:26 2015 NZDT
Speed: 50knts
Run: 220.8nm (399.6km)
Avg: 5.2knts
24hr: 123.8nm
31 00S 171 44E
Weather: NW 20. swell (not observed). baro 1014 hPa 80% cc.

Monday 16 November 0300 NZST.


Wow almost home ! I can only imagine how much that hot shower will mean to you both :-)

Not far now after 2 weeks of no wind! Keep smiling and a hot shower is not far away xox
Sat Nov 14 8:36 2015 NZDT
Speed: 5knts
Run: 108.1nm (195.7km)
Avg: 4.3knts
24hr: 103.6nm
28 18S 169 46E
Weather: 60%cc, ene15, SE swell 1.5m, 1018

very lo batteries due no engine for charging so there will be minimal comms. Walter sounds cheerful on the radio though despite what will be a long trip. Their Tonga positions have been corrected for west longitude so their pacific season now looks a bit more organised!


Fri Nov 13 7:35 2015 NZDT
Speed: 40knts
Run: 59.1nm (107km)
26 48S 170 16E
Weather: SE 15/20. swell SSE 1m5 to 2m. baro 1017 hPa 70% cc. Cb's. Light Showers.

Friday 13 November 0300 NZST. Closehauled.


Thu Nov 12 4:18 2015 NZDT
Speed: 0.5knts
Run: 13.3nm (24.1km)
26 14S 170 59E
Weather: wind calm. swell SSE 1m0 baro 1015.5 hPa 10% cc.

Thursday 12 November 0400 NZST. Waiting for wind.


Wed Nov 11 4:56 2015 NZDT
Speed: 0.5knts
Run: 15.7nm (28.4km)
26 08S 170 48E
Weather: wind lt airs. swell SSE 1m0 baro 1014.5 hPa 10% cc.

Wednesday 11 November 0445 NZST. Waiting for wind.


Tue Nov 10 4:44 2015 NZDT
Speed: 0.5knts
Run: 52.5nm (95km)
26 01S 171 01E
Weather: wind lt airs. swell SSE 1m0 baro 1014.5 hPa 10% cc.

Tuesday 10 November 0430 NZST. Waiting for wind.


Mon Nov 9 7:27 2015 NZDT
Speed: 40knts
Run: 102.7nm (185.9km)
Avg: 10.9knts
24hr: 261.7nm
25 25S 171 32E
Weather: wind SSE 5k. swell SSE 1m5 baro 1016 hPa 90% cc.

Monday 9 November 0700 NZST. Still light headwinds and SSE swell. mmmmm.


Sun Nov 8 22:02 2015 NZDT
Speed: 4knts
Run: 117.6nm (212.9km)
Avg: 3.2knts
24hr: 75.7nm
24 04S 172 13E
Weather: SSE 7k 1015.5hPa 90% cc.

Sunday 8 November 0700 NZST. Still light headwinds and SSE swell. I love yachting.


Yes you do! ;)
Sat Nov 7 8:45 2015 NZDT
Speed: 3knts
Run: 70nm (126.7km)
Avg: 2.7knts
24hr: 65.1nm
22 58S 173 38E
Weather: 1013.5, 60%cc, SSE5, swell se2m

Fri Nov 6 6:57 2015 NZDT
Run: 93.2nm (168.7km)
Avg: 4.2knts
24hr: 100.2nm
22 59s 174 44e
Weather: SSW 12 knots 1011 hPa 80% cc.

Friday 6 Nov 0650 NZST. Testing manual email


Hello to you both, hope your trip is going well loving following your progress. Loads of love from us all.
Thu Nov 5 8:37 2015 NZDT
Speed: 4knts
Run: 115nm (208.2km)
Avg: 4.8knts
24hr: 115.2nm
21 40S 175 03E
Weather: SSE5, sw to ssw 1m swell, 1014.5, 5%Cu

Wed Nov 4 8:39 2015 NZDT
Speed: 4.5knts
Run: 104.8nm (189.7km)
Avg: 4.5knts
24hr: 107.8nm
20 15S 175 59E
Weather: SSe10, swell sse 1.5, 20% lo cloud and 80%hi cloud, 1015.5

There is no working email on board so there will be no email contact while they are on passage. Thieir reports will come from Gulf Harbour radio who talk to them each morning


Shame about the email! Hope your first couple of days have gone well and you're getting used to the night watches again. Xo
Tue Nov 3 9:19 2015 NZDT
Speed: 4.5knts
Run: 91.4nm (165.4km)
18 51S 176 36E
Weather: SSE15, 1015, SE swell 1.5-2m

Sun Nov 1 12:52 2015 NZDT
Run: 14.3nm (25.9km)
17 46S 177 24E

checkout Lautoka for Opua monday 2 nov after provisioning


Mon Oct 19 8:54 2015 NZDT
No position sent.

At anchor, Lautoka.


Mon Oct 12 8:39 2015 NZDT
Run: 155.9nm (282.2km)
17 46S 177 11E

At anchor. Musket Cove


Hi there It was great seeing Lisa and Alex She is a star Looking forward to seeing you maybe 2018?
Tue Jul 14 6:28 2015 NZST
Run: 178.9nm (323.8km)
Avg: 6.4knts
24hr: 153.6nm
16 52s 179 21e
Weather: ESE 15 knots 1016.5 hPa - 100% cc.

Tuesday 14 July 0615 NZST. Entering Savu Savu Bay. End Of Passage.


Mon Jul 13 2:31 2015 NZST
Run: 125nm (226.3km)
Avg: 6.5knts
24hr: 154.9nm
17 39s 178 04w
Weather: SE 15 knots 1016.5 hPa \ 50% cc.

Monday 13 July 0200 NZST. Approaching Lau Group.


Sun Jul 12 7:09 2015 NZST
Run: 145.1nm (262.6km)
Avg: 6.1knts
24hr: 145.2nm
18 11s 176 15w
Weather: SE 15 knots 1018.5 hPa / 90% cc.

Sunday 12 July 0900 NZST. On passage to Fiji


Sat Jul 11 7:10 2015 NZST
Run: 5nm (9.1km)
18 41s 174 06w
Weather: SxE 15 knots 1016.5 hPa / 100% cc.

Saturday 11 July 0700 NZST. Leaving Vava'u. On passage to Fiji


Fri Jul 10 5:05 2015 NZST
18 41.2s 174 01.4w
Weather: WNW 10 knots 1013.5 hPa \ 15% cc.

Friday 10 July 0500 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.

Departing today (Friday) for Savu Savu, ETA Wednesday morning.


Thu Jul 9 4:45 2015 NZST
18 41.2s 174 01.4w
Weather: E 10 knots 1014 hPa \ 30% cc.

Thursday 9 July 0445 NZST. Vava'u.

Departing tomorrow (Friday) for Savu Savu, ETA Wednesday morning.

Our wind report at anchor is always our estimate of local offshore conditions, i.e. orographic effects filtered out to the best of our ability.


Wed Jul 8 5:37 2015 NZST
18 41.2s 174 01.4w
Weather: E 15-20 knots 1016 hPa - 30% cc.

Wednesday 8 July 0515 NZST. Vava'u.

Our wind report at anchor is always our estimate of local offshore conditions, i.e. orographic effects filtered out to the best of our ability.

Currently assessing passage weather Vava'u to Savu Savu, possibly late Friday departure, early Wednesday ETA.


Tue Jul 7 6:17 2015 NZST
Run: 3nm (5.4km)
18 41.2s 174 01.4w
Weather: ENE 15+ knots 1015.5 hPa (Stdy) 25% cc.

Tuesday 7 July 0600 NZST. Vava'u.


Mon Jul 6 5:50 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: E 5 knots 1015.5 hPa (Stdy) 35% cc.

Monday 6 July 0530 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Sat Jul 4 5:48 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: E 15 knots 1015.5 hPa 85% cc.

Saturday 4 July 0530 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Fri Jul 3 6:15 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: ESE 15 knots 1016 hPa 25% cc.

Friday 3 July 0600 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Thu Jul 2 5:56 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SE 15 knots 1016.5 hPa Stdy 20% cc.

Thursday 2 July 0600 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Wed Jul 1 6:01 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SSE 15-20 knots 1017 hPa Steady 5% Cu. Some Cs.

Wednesday 1 July 0600 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Tue Jun 30 5:48 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: S 20-25 knots 1017 hPa Steady 100% cc.

Tuesday 30 June 0545 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Mon Jun 29 5:41 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SSE 15-20 knots 1017 hPa Steady 90% cc.

Monday 29 June 0530 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Sat Jun 27 5:39 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: ESE 10-15 knots 1017 hPa Rising 95% cc.

Saturday 27 June 0530 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Fri Jun 26 6:46 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SSE 15-20 knots 1016 hPa Rising 75% cc.

Friday 26 June 0600 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Fri Jun 26 6:29 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SSE 15-20 knots 1016 hPa Rising 75% cc.

Friday 26 June 0600 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Thu Jun 25 5:58 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: S 15 knots 1012 hPa 90% cc.

Thursday 25 June 0545 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u. Good rain yesterday. Water Tanks full.


Wed Jun 24 4:56 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SW 10 knots 1010 hPa 100% cc.

Wednesday 24 June 0430 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u. RAIN from 0330 NZST. Filling Water Tanks.


Tue Jun 23 6:03 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: NNE 5 knots 1012 hPa 35% cc.

Tuesday 23 June 0550 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Mon Jun 22 5:28 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: ESE 15 knots 1014.5 hPa 35% cc.

Monday 22 June 0530 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Sat Jun 20 5:41 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SE 20-25 knots 1017 hPa Stdy 75% cc.

Saturday 20 June 0530 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Fri Jun 19 7:04 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SSE 20-25 knots 1017 hPa Rising 80% cc.

Friday 19 June 0650 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u.


Thu Jun 18 6:10 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SSE 25 knots 1014.5 hPa Rising 100% cc.

Thursday 18 June 0545 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u. Wind is best guess from this anchorage. Wind strengthened late yesterday evening and has been fairly steady all night with occasional gusts. Cooler temperature. Local Tonga advisory is to prepare for El Nino drought conditions this season, by conserving water and controlling fires.


Hi, Congratulation on you passage to Tonga ! Looking forward to catch-up with you guys later in the season with a bit of luck in Fiji maybe. Cheers, Sergio
Wed Jun 17 6:13 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: ESE 10-15knots 1013hPa 80%cc.

Wednesday 17 June 0600 NZST. Vava'u. Cooler last night. Humidity high this morning.


Tue Jun 16 6:25 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: ESE 10-15knots 1013.5hPa 80%cc.

Tuesday 16 June 0610 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u. Some sun yesterday, hot & very humid.


Mon Jun 15 8:38 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: Light Airs 1015.5hPa 95%cc.

Monday 15 June 0640 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u. Strong wind squalls Saturday night. Impressive Cb's last evening, but no overnight squalls.


Sat Jun 13 6:40 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: ESE 10knt 1015.5hPa 100%cc.

Saturday 13 June 0630 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u. Light showers. Overcast.


Fri Jun 12 6:14 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: ESE 15knt 1015.5hPa 100%cc.

Friday 12 June 0600 NZST. Neiafu, Vava'u. Change of plan. Leaving for Suva next week. Wind report is realy a (orographic) best guess here. Light squalls. Occassional light showers.


Thu Jun 11 6:47 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SE 15-20knt 1015hPa 30%cc.

Thursday 11 June 0620 NZST. 'Port Of Refuge', Neiafu, Vavau. Leaving for Savu Savu tomorrow. We will of course welcome any passage weather comments from David :)


Wed Jun 10 6:11 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: SSE 15-20knt 1014.5hPa 40%cc Ci,Cu.

Wednesday 10 June 0600 NZST. 'Port Of Refuge', Neiafu, Vavau. Leaving for Savu Savu Friday.


Tue Jun 9 6:06 2015 NZST
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: wind light variable 1014hPa 70%cc.

Tuesday 9 June 0600 NZST. 'Port Of Refuge', Neiafu, Vavau


Mon Jun 8 5:29 2015 NZST
Run: 4.8nm (8.7km)
18 40s 173 59w
Weather: wind unknown-landlocked 1015.5hPa 80%cc.

Monday 8 June 0515 NZST. 'Port Of Refuge', Vavau


Sat Jun 6 5:54 2015 NZST
18 43s 174 02w
Weather: 10kt S 1016hPa 15%cc.

Saturday 6 June 0530 NZST. Anchored Vavau.


Fri Jun 5 5:28 2015 NZST
18 43s 174 02w
Weather: 5-10kt ESE 1016hPa 40%cc incl a big Cb.

Friday 6 June 0600 NZST. Anchored Vavau.


Thu Jun 4 6:11 2015 NZST
Run: 4.4nm (8km)
18 43s 174 02w
Weather: 5kt E 1016hPa 20%cc

Thursday 5 June 0600 NZST. Anchored Vavau. Light shower overnight.


Wed Jun 3 5:14 2015 NZST
18 43s 174 06w
Weather: 5kt SE 1014.5hPa 30%cc

Wednesday 3 June 0445 NZST. Anchored Vavau. Picture-perfect anchorage. Lots of ICA yachts around. I believe they are heading for Fiji Monday. We also leave for Fiji later next week, weather permitting, as visas expire 14th.


Tue Jun 2 5:30 2015 NZST
18 43s 174 06w
Weather: 5-10kt SSE 1014.5hPa 20%cc

Tuesday 0515 NZST. Anchored Vavau.


Mon Jun 1 5:31 2015 NZST
18 43s 174 06w
Weather: 5kt SE 1014hPa 5%cc

Monday 0530 NZST. Anchored Vavau.


Sat May 30 6:07 2015 NZST
18 43s 174 06w
Weather: 5-10kt ENE 1014hPa 80%cc St, Cu, Ci

Saturday 0600 NZST. Anchored Vavau.


Fri May 29 6:06 2015 NZST
18 43s 174 06w
Weather: 10kt ENE 1016.5hPa 100%cc

Friday 0500 NZST. Anchored Vavau. Occasional Light drizzle.


Fri May 29 5:54 2015 NZST
Run: 54.3nm (98.3km)
18 43s 174 06w
Weather: 10kt ENE 1016.5hPa 100%cc

Friday 0500 NZST. Anchored Vavau. Occasional Light drizzle.


Thu May 28 5:25 2015 NZST
Run: 21.2nm (38.4km)
19 29s 174 17w
Weather: 20kt ESE 1017 (steady) baro 100%cc

Thursday 0500 NZST. En Route under sail Hapais to Vaava'u. Comms difficult. If not received will try voice.

Later: spoke on GHR net and great signal. Sea 2m bumpy and winds will stay up and back slowlyto E on way to Vavau'u


Wed May 27 5:38 2015 NZST
19 47s 174 21w
Weather: 15-20kt (gusty) ESE 1016 (steady) baro 100%cc

Wednesday 0530 NZST. 24 degC. At Anchor, Hapais. Email difficult. :) If not received will try voice.


Tue May 26 4:47 2015 NZST
Run: 9.2nm (16.7km)
19 47s 174 21w
Weather: 15kt S 1016 baro 100%CC Light Rain

Tuesday 0430 NZST. At Anchor, Hapais. Comms challenging. :)


Mon May 25 5:06 2015 NZST
Run: 7.1nm (12.9km)
19 54s 174 25w
Weather: 5kt NE 1016 baro 5%CC

At Anchor, Hapais. All Well.


Sat May 23 5:53 2015 NZST
Run: 28.4nm (51.4km)
19 58s 174 30w
Weather: 10knts ENE 1017 baro 10%CC

At Anchor, Hapais. All Well.


Fri May 22 7:17 2015 NZST
Run: 63.8nm (115.5km)
20 16s 174 48w
Weather: 10knts SSE 1017 baro 30% Cu cloud

All Well. Heading N this morning.


Fri May 15 8:00 2015 NZST
Run: 335.6nm (607.4km)
21 07.5126s 175 09.6931w

enjoying Tongatapu. All is well .


Sat May 9 7:32 2015 NZST
Speed: 3.5knts
Run: 315.4nm (570.9km)
Avg: 13.2knts
24hr: 315.9nm
25 27S 177 34W
Weather: swell 1.5m NE, NE9, 1011, 100%cc

Tacking to Tonga


Great to see a daily update :) I am Walter and estelle's daughter.
Fri May 8 7:34 2015 NZST
Speed: 4.5knts
26 18S 177 27E
Weather: NNE13, low 6/8 Cu

No blogs available for this yacht.