Southern Cross London

Southern Cross London

Mon Jun 16 7:29 2014 NZST
No position sent.
Weather: E15, swell1m, 1015, 75%cloud

Hakafesia to Namuka today


Thu Jun 5 15:21 2014 NZST
Run: 177.8nm (321.8km)
21 07.5S 175 09.7W

At Big Muma's - Tonga living up to it so far. All well.


Tue Jun 3 7:31 2014 NZST
No position sent.
Weather: SSE12, 1m seas and 100%cloud

50nm from Tongatapu. Yee ha.


Mon Jun 2 7:29 2014 NZST
Speed: 6.5knts
Run: 319.5nm (578.3km)
Avg: 6.7knts
24hr: 159.9nm
22 48S 177 16W
Weather: sse 10-15, 30%cl 1014

passed Minerva yesterday and getting close to destination


Sat May 31 7:32 2014 NZST
Speed: 6..7knts
Run: 184.1nm (333.2km)
Avg: 7.8knts
24hr: 186.4nm
26 32S 179 44E
Weather: NE6-12, sw1.5m, 30%cl, 1015st

may go to N Minerva or may go direct to Tonga. Wx depenedent


Fri May 30 7:50 2014 NZST
Run: 372.6nm (674.4km)
Avg: 7.7knts
24hr: 185.2nm
28 42S 177 59E

cannot TX on 8752 - the alt freq for GHR


Wed May 28 7:32 2014 NZST
Speed: 6knts
Run: 139.2nm (252km)
Avg: 7knts
24hr: 169nm
33 24S 174 54E
Weather: Se11 1mse 1024 40%cl

Tue May 27 11:46 2014 NZST
35 18.6S 174 07.5E

Departed Opua NZ - headed Minerva - Tonga


Mon May 26 12:05 2014 NZST
Run: 28.8nm (52.1km)
35 18.6S 174 07.5E

Opua - looking to clearout from NZ Tue.


Wed May 21 0:00 2014 NZST
Run: 2.6nm (4.7km)
35 02.5S 173 44.1E

Hitting the big smoke????fishing club for dinner


Mon May 19 0:00 2014 NZST
Run: 12.2nm (22.1km)
35 00.28S 173 43.85E

Whangaroa - beaut


Sun May 18 0:00 2014 NZST
Run: 23.9nm (43.3km)
34 59.3S 173 56.7E

Dived on Rainbow Warrior


Sat May 17 0:00 2014 NZST
Run: 5.9nm (10.7km)
35 15.5S 174 12.5E

meet up with Paul, Jo, Peta and Stewart. Katherina joined today


Fri May 16 0:00 2014 NZST
Run: 2.3nm (4.2km)
35 18.6S 174 07.5E

Opua to fill with water first since Welli


Thu May 15 0:00 2014 NZST
Run: 8.6nm (15.6km)
35 16.6S 174 07.6E

Mabels Birthday - Oke Bay snorkling and party then dinner at the Russell RSL


Wed May 14 8:04 2014 NZST
Run: 5.5nm (10km)
35 13.63S 174 16E

OkeBay - top spot, clear water, beach, cliffs and very sheltered.


Mon May 12 7:16 2014 NZST
Run: 2.6nm (4.7km)
35 14.05S 174 10.20E

Another long voyage yesterday, Moved 2 miles. Beaut Spot here


Sat May 10 12:26 2014 NZST
Run: 2.2nm (4km)
35 15.507S 174 12.363E

Anchored Opunga Cove - looks a popular place, pretty small trip today! Towed the trawl net for rubbish samples today. It doesn't like it if it goes over 3.5 knots so a slow trip with one donk idling. Planning on meeting up with Jo and Paul from Kerikeri who we met at whangamumu. We havea slab of Salmon from Tassie to eat on the BBQ. Cheerio Braye


Thu May 8 19:18 2014 NZST
35 13.6S 174 12E

Anchored Bay of Islands


Southern Cross London - Hi from Mabel Trixie

Hi, It is Mabel here, can't wait until my Birthday on the 15th of May, Yippey. I am looking forward to going to Tonga, it sounds like lots of fun.

Southern Cross London - First Blog for Southern Cross 2014 Cruise

Just joined this Yacht in Transit site, a great service. We will endeavor to add blogs when in port and with internet. Otherwise we will contact the crew that run this website by HF Radio and they will update our position on a map so you can see where we are. Currently at the Bay of Islands NZ, plan on spending a couple of weeks here and a little North and then leave for Tonga. The Rainbow Warrior scuttled by the French is sitting in about 20m of water a few hours North so will go for a dive Read more...

on that. More soon once we get organized with this blogging business. Cheerio Braye