Iolea

Iolea

Sun Sep 3 21:02 2017 NZST
Run: 335.6nm (607.4km)
Weather: Clear skies, wind has died down, cool

We arrived a week ago from Port Vila and are lapping up the wonderful food in restaurants and supermarkets. Noumea is like being in the eastern suburbs of Sydney but with a lovely French twist.

Fri Jun 23 8:50 2017 NZST
Run: 171.4nm (310.2km)

In Port Vila waiting for batteries to be delivered from NZ.

Sun Jun 11 15:09 2017 NZST
Run: 341.4nm (617.9km)

Arrived Luganville 9 June after a long motorsail into SE-S winds but otherwise easy trip. Good to be back in the big smoke.

Thu May 25 17:07 2017 NZST
Run: 344nm (622.6km)
Avg: 3.9knts
24hr: 92.6nm

Dnendo Island, Santa Cruz. Greeted by Moses who was fishing in his dugout and shown where the yachts anchor. Another picturesque bay and very quiet. I don't know how we will cope with civilisation when we get there. Even Honiara was pretty low key.

Mon May 22 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 67.2nm (121.6km)

Marau Sound, Guadalcanal Island. Beautiful area home to the two Joe's and two Gus's. The Joe's traded citrus, beans and stories for flour, soap, and clothes. The two Gus's run the Tavanipupu resort. We snorkelled off the resort and saw a devil scorpion fish that looked exactly like the dead coral around it, and the most amazing scarlet-orange anemone with two Spinecheek anemone fish.

Thu May 18 9:17 2017 NZST
Run: 138.7nm (251km)

Honiara. Arrived a couple of days ago and enjoying eating out and good internet. Honiara not as bad as its reputation. People friendly and helpful. Will head on east over the weekend probably.

Thu May 11 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 15.1nm (27.3km)

Mbilie. Saw our first Manta Ray on arrival. Milton greeted us and helped with anchoring. Nice layback area which is very beautiful. Lisa runs a dive operation on Tambapeava Island and is a mine of information.

Thu May 11 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 9.4nm (17km)

Batuna. Pretty village and good market on Thursdays.

Sat May 6 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 4.3nm (7.8km)

Matiu Island. good diving and snorkelling along the wall but keep an eye out for sharks. Seems to be a gathering area and they were quite active around 50 metres off the west of Matiu.

Thu May 4 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 2.7nm (4.9km)

Matimbako Island. Lots of bombies and took some unravelling to get the chain up but really nice snorkelling in the pass on the western side and along the wall on Karikana island. Spectacular Gorgan Fan garden off Kemu island.

Tue May 2 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 10.9nm (19.7km)

LuLu's island. Lulu is a delightful rastifarian local with lovely little carvings, produce, and lobster. He and is friends were all friendly but not pushy - just plain nice people.

Mon May 1 9:06 2017 NZST
Run: 11.2nm (20.3km)

Uepi Resort. Giant versions of reef fish we have seen elsewhere. We contacted the Resort beforehand and were able to have lunch yesterday, lobster wraps and apple cake, both excellent. Dive today.

Sat Apr 29 8:33 2017 NZST
Run: 5.9nm (10.7km)

Seghe, small village, large airstrip and Lagoon side bar run by a woman who has lived in Bathurst and Nambucca Heads

Wed Apr 26 15:43 2017 NZST
Run: 14.8nm (26.8km)

Matikuri Island. We had been looking forward to the locally run lodge here but unfortunately the owner died recently and it seems to be closed.

Tue Apr 25 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 25.2nm (45.6km)

Viru Harbour. For the first time met by women in acanoes wanting to trade f&v for school books and pencils. Nice change from carvers.

Mon Apr 24 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 9.2nm (16.7km)

Egholo Bay. Met by Boise who arranged a show of carvings, eggs and f&v. Beautiful bay and lovely people as usual.

Sat Apr 22 21:29 2017 NZST
Run: 7.4nm (13.4km)

Munda. We celebrated Paul's 55th with Rod and Brenda on State of Mind Last night. Another picturesque anchorage with mountainous Rendova island as the backdrop.

Wed Apr 19 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 26.2nm (47.4km)

Lola. island and the easy company of Jo and Lisa at Zipolo Habu Resort. A tranquil setting with a regular evening show of reef sharks, and mullet stirring up schools of fish. Could have happily stayed there foer a week or two.

Mon Apr 17 17:59 2017 NZST
Run: 3.8nm (6.9km)

Gizo with 7 other yachts. The most they have seen this season.

Thu Apr 13 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 22.3nm (40.4km)

Fat boys resort and our second cooked meal off the boat. So nice to have someone else do it. We stopped in at Sanbis just north of here for pizza a couple of days later and had a long chat with Hanz the owner.

Tue Apr 11 0:00 2017 NZST
Run: 1020.1nm (1846.4km)
Avg: 3.8knts
24hr: 92.4nm

Noro, Solomon Islands for check-in after squall- ridden but otherwise uneventful passage.

Fri Mar 31 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 400.8nm (725.4km)
Avg: 3.3knts
24hr: 80.2nm

Kosrae. A pleasant stop with easy bureaucracy. Tree House Hotel and its river side restaurant are great value.

Sun Mar 26 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 37.8nm (68.4km)

Just south of Ebeye is some excellent snorkelling. We wish we had found this earlier. We left for Kosrae the next day.

Sat Mar 18 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 34.3nm (62.1km)

Nell island pass. Fabulous drift snorkelling and walks across the islands and passes to the west. ( mum's birthday)

Fri Mar 10 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 9.1nm (16.5km)

Bigij on Kwajalein. Nice getaway spot.

Wed Mar 8 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 46.4nm (84km)

Ebeye island on Kwajalein Atoll. Much maligned but a pleasant surprise. Poor people but happy and basic foodstuffs available. Note: no ATM and bank will not change currency so bring what you need.

Sat Mar 4 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 196.8nm (356.2km)

Roi-Namur on Kwajalein Atoll is a US military base for tracking satellites etc. no entry beyond the dock without permission.

Mon Feb 27 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 6.2nm (11.2km)

Enyu on Bikini. Abandoned buildings and construction equipment. Nice reef off the airstrip

Thu Feb 23 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 82.2nm (148.8km)

Bikini island, Bikini Atoll. Nothing out of the ordinary but still a sense of a cloud overhead.

Tue Feb 21 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 14.6nm (26.4km)

Tufa island, Rongelap. Good staging spot for Bikini but a bit rolly in northerly winds.

Tue Feb 14 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 8.7nm (15.7km)

Eniaetok or Long Island which was formed by a rock hitting a bird in flight and breaking its left wing. Great anchorage with protection from northeast to east. Good beachcombing.

Mon Feb 13 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 15.9nm (28.8km)

Rongelap island and the potential township

Sun Feb 12 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 32.3nm (58.5km)

Rongerlap, fabulous snorkelling in the pass to our south

Fri Feb 10 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 5.8nm (10.5km)

Eniwetak in south Rongerik, large turtle and pretty bommies

Fri Feb 3 0:00 2017 NZDT
Run: 392.3nm (710.1km)

Rongerik and into the wilderness. Wonderful!

No blogs available for this yacht.